View source
ID Name Email Status Comments
36802 Lorem Kasd Lorem-kasd@Lorem.com JUSTO Stet sanctus...
38157 At Invidunt At-invidunt@justo.com SIT vero labore...
88996 Accusam Sed accusam-sed@At.com DOLORE consetetur elitr...
38199 Et Invidunt et-invidunt@labore.com NONUMY diam sed...
41647 Lorem Tempor Lorem-tempor@dolores.com DIAM accusam sed...
61438 Et Erat et-erat@nonumy.com SED tempor At...
79347 Dolor Erat dolor-erat@kasd.com MAGNA sed no...
62570 Sadipscing Rebum sadipscing-rebum@eos.com NO aliquyam est...
1696 Invidunt Lorem invidunt-Lorem@dolor.com IPSUM labore sit...
62449 Invidunt Vero invidunt-vero@sanctus.com SEA invidunt et...

You actually have a lot of flexibility in how the table is displayed, but of course you should probably stay close to the defaults in most cases. You adjust the look of the table via two methods, 1) pass through table and column attributes, and 2) Style sheets which are described below.

Click through the above links to see different style examples of the same basic table. Most of the differences in appearance between the tables below are achieved via only stylesheet changes.

Html attributes

You can assign to the <display:table> tag any standard html attribute (es. cellspacing, cellpadding), and it will be included in the rendered table.

Likewise, you can assign to the <display:column> tag any standard html attribute and it will be included in any <td> tag of the rendered table. You can also specify a class to be used only for the column header (<th>) adding a headerClass attribute.

Note: the attribute styleClass used for the <table> and <column> tag in previous version of the taglibrary is deprecated in favor of the standard html class attribute.

Style Sheets

While attributes might be the most comfortable way to change the appearance of your table, using style sheets is more powerful. We use style sheets to make the header a dark color, make rows an alternate color, and set the fonts within the cells to a smaller version of verdana. As the <display:table> tag is drawing, it assigns the following class names to elements.

You can then create a style sheet and assign attributes such as font size, family, color, etc... to each of those class names and the table will be shown according to your styles.

classassigned to
oddassigned to the tr tag of all odd numbered data rows
evenassigned to the tr tag of all even numbered data rows
sortedassigned to the th tag of the sorted column
order1assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is ascending
order2assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is descending