View source
ID Name Email Status Comments
58785 Clita Eos clita-eos@diam.com ACCUSAM diam sed...
7580 Tempor Sit tempor-sit@labore.com REBUM dolores clita...
87627 Sanctus Sadipscing sanctus-sadipscing@diam.com NO Lorem tempor...
57034 Diam Et diam-et@eos.com SED erat sea...
29607 Sed Sed sed-sed@elitr.com ET nonumy sanctus...
5845 Duo Eos duo-eos@sit.com GUBERGREN clita ea...
90051 Est Ut est-ut@voluptua.com ERAT et sed...
43521 Et Diam et-diam@takimata.com STET tempor magna...
68401 Accusam Erat accusam-erat@magna.com REBUM rebum dolore...
29079 Eirmod Duo eirmod-duo@rebum.com TEMPOR justo eos...

You actually have a lot of flexibility in how the table is displayed, but of course you should probably stay close to the defaults in most cases. You adjust the look of the table via two methods, 1) pass through table and column attributes, and 2) Style sheets which are described below.

Click through the above links to see different style examples of the same basic table. Most of the differences in appearance between the tables below are achieved via only stylesheet changes.

Html attributes

You can assign to the <display:table> tag any standard html attribute (es. cellspacing, cellpadding), and it will be included in the rendered table.

Likewise, you can assign to the <display:column> tag any standard html attribute and it will be included in any <td> tag of the rendered table. You can also specify a class to be used only for the column header (<th>) adding a headerClass attribute.

Note: the attribute styleClass used for the <table> and <column> tag in previous version of the taglibrary is deprecated in favor of the standard html class attribute.

Style Sheets

While attributes might be the most comfortable way to change the appearance of your table, using style sheets is more powerful. We use style sheets to make the header a dark color, make rows an alternate color, and set the fonts within the cells to a smaller version of verdana. As the <display:table> tag is drawing, it assigns the following class names to elements.

You can then create a style sheet and assign attributes such as font size, family, color, etc... to each of those class names and the table will be shown according to your styles.

classassigned to
oddassigned to the tr tag of all odd numbered data rows
evenassigned to the tr tag of all even numbered data rows
sortedassigned to the th tag of the sorted column
order1assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is ascending
order2assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is descending