View source
ID Name Email Status Comments
1947 Sit Justo sit-justo@magna.com INVIDUNT diam At...
17412 Et Eos et-eos@sea.com EOS sed elitr...
78465 Accusam Sed accusam-sed@Stet.com ET sanctus sadipscing...
23244 Lorem Sit Lorem-sit@dolor.com DIAM accusam tempor...
42193 Eirmod Ea eirmod-ea@consetetur.com ELITR et voluptua...
99774 Lorem Sed Lorem-sed@consetetur.com ET kasd eirmod...
35885 Vero Dolor vero-dolor@justo.com IPSUM diam sea...
12249 Sed Ea sed-ea@sed.com VERO voluptua invidunt...
18937 Diam Amet diam-amet@sadipscing.com TEMPOR gubergren vero...
24086 Sanctus Sed sanctus-sed@clita.com AT sanctus vero...

You actually have a lot of flexibility in how the table is displayed, but of course you should probably stay close to the defaults in most cases. You adjust the look of the table via two methods, 1) pass through table and column attributes, and 2) Style sheets which are described below.

Click through the above links to see different style examples of the same basic table. Most of the differences in appearance between the tables below are achieved via only stylesheet changes.

Html attributes

You can assign to the <display:table> tag any standard html attribute (es. cellspacing, cellpadding), and it will be included in the rendered table.

Likewise, you can assign to the <display:column> tag any standard html attribute and it will be included in any <td> tag of the rendered table. You can also specify a class to be used only for the column header (<th>) adding a headerClass attribute.

Note: the attribute styleClass used for the <table> and <column> tag in previous version of the taglibrary is deprecated in favor of the standard html class attribute.

Style Sheets

While attributes might be the most comfortable way to change the appearance of your table, using style sheets is more powerful. We use style sheets to make the header a dark color, make rows an alternate color, and set the fonts within the cells to a smaller version of verdana. As the <display:table> tag is drawing, it assigns the following class names to elements.

You can then create a style sheet and assign attributes such as font size, family, color, etc... to each of those class names and the table will be shown according to your styles.

classassigned to
oddassigned to the tr tag of all odd numbered data rows
evenassigned to the tr tag of all even numbered data rows
sortedassigned to the th tag of the sorted column
order1assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is ascending
order2assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is descending