View source
ID Name Email Status Comments
59341 Voluptua Diam voluptua-diam@voluptua.com INVIDUNT dolor eirmod...
936 Magna Sea magna-sea@voluptua.com VERO sed labore...
62923 Gubergren Eirmod gubergren-eirmod@eirmod.com DIAM diam tempor...
45793 Et Labore et-labore@et.com ET kasd et...
97419 Et Dolor et-dolor@nonumy.com EST amet justo...
93561 At Sadipscing At-sadipscing@et.com JUSTO sadipscing no...
86462 Et Diam et-diam@tempor.com LOREM dolores ipsum...
82029 Tempor Dolor tempor-dolor@dolor.com REBUM et magna...
92669 Vero Est vero-est@kasd.com AMET sea kasd...
88911 Est Sea est-sea@est.com AT et amet...

You actually have a lot of flexibility in how the table is displayed, but of course you should probably stay close to the defaults in most cases. You adjust the look of the table via two methods, 1) pass through table and column attributes, and 2) Style sheets which are described below.

Click through the above links to see different style examples of the same basic table. Most of the differences in appearance between the tables below are achieved via only stylesheet changes.

Html attributes

You can assign to the <display:table> tag any standard html attribute (es. cellspacing, cellpadding), and it will be included in the rendered table.

Likewise, you can assign to the <display:column> tag any standard html attribute and it will be included in any <td> tag of the rendered table. You can also specify a class to be used only for the column header (<th>) adding a headerClass attribute.

Note: the attribute styleClass used for the <table> and <column> tag in previous version of the taglibrary is deprecated in favor of the standard html class attribute.

Style Sheets

While attributes might be the most comfortable way to change the appearance of your table, using style sheets is more powerful. We use style sheets to make the header a dark color, make rows an alternate color, and set the fonts within the cells to a smaller version of verdana. As the <display:table> tag is drawing, it assigns the following class names to elements.

You can then create a style sheet and assign attributes such as font size, family, color, etc... to each of those class names and the table will be shown according to your styles.

classassigned to
oddassigned to the tr tag of all odd numbered data rows
evenassigned to the tr tag of all even numbered data rows
sortedassigned to the th tag of the sorted column
order1assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is ascending
order2assigned to the th tag of the sorted column if sort order is descending